Duryea Scouts

Troop 285 and Cub Pack 365

Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow is Scouting’s National Honor Society
The Order of the Arrow (OA) was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America. It became an official program experiment in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934. In 1948 the OA, recognized as the BSA’s national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the national camping program of the Boy Scouts of America.


The purpose of the Order of the Arrow is fourfold:
  • To recognize those Scout campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives
  • To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit
  • To promote Scout camping
  • To crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others


Scouts are elected to the Order by their fellow unit members, following approval by the Scoutmaster or Varsity team Coach. To become a member, a youth must be a registered member of a Boy Scout troop or Varsity Scout team and hold First Class rank. The youth must have experienced fifteen days and nights of Boy Scout camping during the two-year period prior to the election. The fifteen days and nights must include one, but no more than one, long-term camp consisting of six consecutive days and five nights of resident camping, approved and under the auspices and standards of the Boy Scouts of America. The balance of the camping must be overnight, weekend, or other short-term camps.
Adult selection is based on their ability to perform the necessary functions to help the Order fulfill its purpose, and is not for recognition. Selected adult Scouters must be an asset to the Order because of demonstrated abilities, and provide a positive role model for the youth members of the lodge. 

I do hereby promise, on my honor as a Scout, that I will always and faithfully observe and preserve the traditions of the Order of the Arrow, Wimachtendienk, Wingolauchsik, Witahemui.I will always regard the ties of brotherhood in the Order of the Arrow as lasting, and will seek to preserve a cheerful spirit, even in the midst of irksome tasks and weighty responsibilities, and will endeavor, so far as in my power lies,to be unselfish in service and devotion to the welfare of others.


Troop 285 OA Members of the Lowwapaneu Lodge #191
In Loving Memory of Douglas E. Zimmerman – 1976
Sherwood Grabiec ASM -
Jason Fretti – 1977 Charlie Krupa – 1977
Jaye Krupa – ASM -1977 SM Gary Collins Sr. – 1999
Gary Collins Jr. – 1999 Jeffrey Gitkos – 1999
Joseph Costantion – 1999 Ken Warabak – ASM - 2006
Brian Warabak – 2006 Nick Rosati – 2006
Chris Gammon – 2006 Brian Reese – 2007
Johnathan Zimmerman – 2007 Timothy J. Mlodzienski – 2007
Michael Piccoletti – 2007 Michael Yuhas – 2007
Scoutmaster Robert Dziecol – 2007 Joseph Gorgol – 2008
Brian Mlodzienski -2008 Josh Houghtlin - 2008
Richard Ostrander -2008 TCC – Ann Edwards -2008
Ryan Burdick – 2010 Christopher Cashmere – 2010
Gregory Grabiec – 2010 Christopher Muha – 2010
Enrico Connors – 2011 Brandon Houghtlin – 2011
Jonathan Kamor – 2011